Snap out of it!

Reposted from Coldwell Banker Bain’s Fences & Flowers blog.
By Roger Morris (AKA Mr. Roger)

growthIt’s spring. Did anyone tell you that yet? Besides the fact that Seattle had snow showers in MARCH, my daffodils are starting to make their statement in my yard, the birds are singing, the days are longer, and I’ve been in wonder of some pretty nice sunrises and sunsets of late. Ah, growth, it’s that time of year. Lately, growth is not only about what is coming out of the ground, but what is being torn up and rebuilt. There seems to be an abundance of both right now.

At my office on Capitol Hill, my colleagues and I have watched with much sadness as a construction crew demolishes the building that held B&O Espresso across the street. For as long as I can remember, B&O has been that reliable place I could suggest when you wanted a wonderful late night dessert after a concert or show, or morning coffee that wasn’t from a chain down the street.

Up the street from my office past the light rail tunnel construction, they are tearing down the over 100-year-old Weatherford House – always a consistent source for classic antiques and home furnishings. Both are being replaced with new, non-descriptive structures that will be apartments and hold less character. And in between are “podments”, new trolley lines on Broadway, and assorted other projects of growth.

I will admit, sometimes growth makes me grumpy. In many Seattle neighborhoods, the main streets have become a tunnel of buildings that all look the same. Gone are the Northwest cottages-turned-businesses, mid-century hardware stores, and oddly-renovated, ‘70s-era restaurants that all brought charm and character to each neighborhood. Queen Anne Avenue, Broadway on Capitol Hill, Market Street in Ballard…boring? Maybe, but they were designed with growth in mind.

Is growth bad? I need to practice what I preach and consider these as assets to the community instead of detriments. We continue to hear about the Seattle area’s low inventory, competitive offers for our buyers (that are generally making our sellers happy), and other market challenges. However, the new construction and change can also be a good thing…a rebirth for neighborhoods that need to change with the times.

I resolve to approach this growth with a healthier attitude and not let it shape and control my attitude towards the real estate market. Inventory is improving, interest rates are still great, and growth will continue. Those daffodils will be popping up in my yard, and pretty soon I’ll begin weeding in my yard. It’s a fact of growth.

As Cher so adamantly stated in the movie, Moonstruck, it’s time to “snap out of it!” Make the most of this market! Don’t let it control your real estate growth.

Leave a Reply

